Perspectives: Eating a meal in their shoes (Restaurant Critics)

Here are two recent articles inside the life of restaurant critics:

excerpt:
"For 13 years, I've been getting paid to eat in restaurants – regularly and often. A dream come true, you might say. Well, yes, and then again, no. A friend once asked what the worst thing about my job was, and I answered, "Eating out." The best thing: Eating out. It's a paradox. Tasting another bite of overcooked tuna, another spoonful of sludgy pumpkin soup, another leaden bit of deep-fried calamari can feel like attaching a ball and chain to my tongue. Yet as soon as one taste, one memory wears off, I'm up for another."

source: "The Secret Life of a Restaurant Critic" by Allison Arnett (Boston Globe, Oct.9,2005)

excerpt:
"After nearly 20 years on the job, it's time for a chat. Beginning today, we can talk daily on my blog, "Between Meals,'' on SFGate.com.

I eat out every night and am immersed in food during the day at The Chronicle, so a lot of information passes through my brain.

However, because I can only write a Chronicle Magazine restaurant review and a 96 Hours restaurant update every week, I haven't been able to share a lot of what I've learned — until now."

source: "Critic's blog gets up close, personal" by Michael Bauer (San Francisco Chronicle, May 3, 2006)

Restaurant critic blogs:
Michael Bauer (San Francisco Chronicle)
Frank Bruni (New York Times)
Howard Seftel (Arizona Republic)

Happy Eating.

Leave a Reply

