Article: “A menu of ‘don’ts’ for restaurant servers” (Jul.2006)

dont.jpg

excerpt:
“…When paying that amount of money for my Tournedos Rossini, I expect stellar service. So when the waiter came to the table and referred to me and my dining companion as “you guys,” I wanted to stuff his mouth with my very large napkin.

This brings me to this month’s topic: The Don’ts of Restaurant Service.

…5. You don’t need to come by the table every 10 minutes to find out if everything is all right. Learn to read your customers. People conducting business don’t want to be interrupted. Couples on a romantic date don’t want to be interrupted. People deep in conversation don’t want to be interrupted. If you must interrupt, be as unobtrusive as possible.”

source: “A menu of ‘don’ts’ for restaurant servers” by Pam Wischkaemper (North County Times, Jul.27,2006)

Leave a Reply

